end Big Island beginning Molokai - Reisverslag uit Kaunakakai, Verenigde Staten van Claudia Starre - WaarBenJij.nu end Big Island beginning Molokai - Reisverslag uit Kaunakakai, Verenigde Staten van Claudia Starre - WaarBenJij.nu

end Big Island beginning Molokai

Door: Claudia

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Claudia

12 Januari 2013 | Verenigde Staten, Kaunakakai

The last day on Big island was not what I thought it would be. I went for Walmart to by a new camera I suck-seeded and start making pictures right away. Walked to Coconut island, it is an island with coconut trees without coconuts. Not that nice :( I hitchhiked back to down town Hilo and went to the Leyman museum witch is about all the diverend cultures that came to Hawaii. They came to Hawaii to work on the plantations. First the Japanies came than the Chinees the Korean the Filipinos the Portugees and the Rusian. A lot of this cultures and influences you can still find on the island. There was also a tour trough the mission house museum with was right next to the museum. It was sort of the same as the mission house museum on Oahu. But this time it was a short visit, a lot of talking but I new most of it.
After the Leyman museum I went af talking to this old couple that came with a big cruise ship. They had only 3 hours to see all the island, and choose to go to the Leyman museum. I went to the discovery museum it was nice, but not very interesting.
After that I went to the Tsunami museum. What was impressive, Hilo is hid more than 4 times by a Tsunami. There where story's from the people that survived and about family members that died in front of there eyes. There was also an simulation that tells how a Tsunami is formed. It is formed true earthquakes that form a shock which then create a wave, which makes the next wave. What finally ends as a tsunami coming on shore. Destroy everything that is in reach.
Checked out the hostel and went to sleep. Took the taxi at 6:45 am and waited again for the plain. It did not take that long but it was delayed. I almost mist my connection. But I did not, I made it have some pictures from the plain. It was really small and bumpy.
I arrived at the hostel to early so I went to the Molokai museum.It was all about the Hanson disease population on the island. And the only sugar mill that was on the island. The mill is 100 years old and is restored to be new again 20 years ago. It was nice to see how sugar was grown en produced. I checked in Ilima (the owner) is really nice, it is an old lady that rents peaces of her house out to tourists. I have my own cottage what is really nice, I will post some pictures.
After the check in I went for some food but first I went to a macadamia nut farm. There I took a tour around the farm. Did you know you can eat macadamia raw? And did you know that the tree has fruits all year round? And that they are the hardest nut on the world?
I went for grocery and a slice of pizza. And drove back, the car I have is so nice. It is a dodge adventure. Now writing this story it is longer than I thought it would be. It is only two day's. Hope you have had fun to read it.

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Claudia

Op reis naar Hawaii, om daar lessen te volgen op Hawaii Pacific University. Volgende reis zal gaan naar Canada om daar van het ski seizoen te kunnen genieten.

Actief sinds 24 Dec. 2012
Verslag gelezen: 259
Totaal aantal bezoekers 23057

Voorgaande reizen:

18 November 2013 - 31 Maart 2014

Canada in het Winter seizoen

16 Augustus 2012 - 17 Januari 2013

Mijn eerste reis bestemming is Hawaii

Landen bezocht: