Mijn eerste Essay - Reisverslag uit Honolulu, Verenigde Staten van Claudia Starre - WaarBenJij.nu Mijn eerste Essay - Reisverslag uit Honolulu, Verenigde Staten van Claudia Starre - WaarBenJij.nu

Mijn eerste Essay

Door: Claudia

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Claudia

31 Oktober 2012 | Verenigde Staten, Honolulu

Hoi lezers na het verhaal over de tsunami nu een wat ligter verhaal. Ik heb een essay geschreven voor mijn schrijf les. En wil het graag met jullie delen. Ik hoop dat iedereen het leuk vind. Het is een persoonlijk verhaal. Dus voor de mensen die me niet zo goed kennen veel plezier. En voor de mensen die me een stuk beter kennen. Als goed is weten jullie dit van mij zo niet, ken je me dan wel zo goed? Veel plezier met lezen. En sorry het stuk is in het engels. En het was mijn laatste versie maar moet nog wat veranderen dus sugesties zijn welkom.

Me and my Motorcycle
“Dad let me go with you, please dad I want to go with you.” That was me when I was 8 years old and my dad parked a motorcycle in our driveway. I grabbed my brother’s helmet from the closet and told my dad I was ready to go. My dad started laughing and let me sit on the back for a while. “Diner” mom shouted. And dad let me down and promised that we go for a ride after diner. I had some troubles with finishing diner as fast as possible. And dad of course would take his time, talk a little with mom, and started with the dishes. “Dad do not do the dishes! It is going to take hours!” I screamed. “Hans you can go take that kid and drive a little” mom said. She must have thought I was crazy. But she knew, I love to be on that motorcycle.
I was around 12 years old when the whole family had a hell of a trip! My dad and my two uncles where driving motorcycles. Me and my brother were on the back, first I sat on the bike of my uncle Wout and my brother was on the back of my dad’s bike. But after a swap from bikes I was on the back of my dad’s bike and my brother was on the back of my uncle Cees’ his bike. We were trying to bring the bikes home. “Let’s go for an extra fast ride?” dad asked. He knew I was always in for a fast ride so we went off. We took a left and let my uncle and brother go straight home. We were driving over 220 kilometers a hour, it was fast! We turned and did it again. But when we came back at the crossing, my uncle, uncle Wout was laying on the road. There were people standing all around him. They were staring at him, were directing the cars and had called the ambulance. My dad went crazy; he threw the new Ducati against a tree, threw his helmet on the ground and started shouting. Shouting at me and at the people that were standing around my uncle. I was afraid of him, he never acted like that! I can still see him and my uncle in front of my eyes. Anneke (friend of the family) said to my dad that he had to bring me to the others that were waiting at the bike store. Anneke shouted “that child is too young to see all of this take her to the others” But I knew It was too late, I already saw it, dad brought me to my mom and he told her everything. He and my uncle Cees stepped on their bikes and went back to see how their little brother was. When they came back he told us that my uncle was at the hospital and we needed to get our aunt. She should be waiting for him at home. So we all stepped in the car and drove to my aunt’s house. We told her that my uncle was in the hospital, she didn’t know what to do. So my mom drove her to the hospital and dad cooked us diner and took us home. My nephew and nice came home with us so my aunt could stay at the hospital that night. What was going on in my mind was selfish. “I could have been on that motorcycle with him” it’s crazy. I was there on the back of his bike before we switched. I’m still not sure what happened next. But what I do know is that my uncle Wout was in a coma, and never became who he was before.
Now you may think why does she still want to drive and want to get her driver’s license. Why did I still want to drive after my uncle’s accident? I love the speed and after my uncles accident my dad didn’t drive motorcycles anymore. He stopped because of it. He himself has had several accidents that never made him stop driving, but when his little brother had the accident he stopped, so I couldn’t sit on the back any more. I couldn’t experience the feeling of total freedom and speed anymore. I never asked him why he stopped, but when my brother got his motorcycle driver’s license and a motor bike. My dad started to drive again. He didn’t want me to go with him. I still don’t know why, but I decided I wanted to have that feeling again, and that I wanted to drive myself so when I became eighteen all I wanted to do is get my motorcycle driver’s license. (Eighteen is the age you can start with your driver’s license in the Netherlands.) But I thought a car license is way more useful so I stared with that. When I finished my car license one, I directly started with the motorcycle and got the driver’s license on my nineteenth birthday.
My mom and I went shopping for my equipment; you need lots of stuff when you just start driving. A needed a bike and got a Suzuki GS 500, it’s a small bike. You have to start with a small bike to learn when you are a beginner. I needed a helmet, boots, gloves, a suit. That’s a lot of stuff still I was done in a few minutes, I knew what I wanted to have. Dad made sure that I was prepared so I could drive as soon as I came home from the test. The bike should be prepared, new oil and the last checks. I came home and had my first drive on my bike. That was the first time I drove alone, I felt the freedom the speed and the adrenaline, it felt so good! I was away for about four hours, and my parents were afraid I was lost. But after a while I came back with a big smile on my face, shining like a star. Dad told me “that’s the way you should feel when you step of your bike.” He laughed at me and said “next time I’m going with you!”
The feeling of the road passing underneath me, the wind on my skin, the rain on my face, the speed and the adrenaline flowing through my body. They all give me a boost when I’m driving. And all of that I have to miss for half a year. I’m in Hawai’i now and I have different experiences but I miss the feeling of total freedom. When I am driving, I trust in me and the capabilities of the bike. I miss driving wherever I want and whenever I want. At the moment I depend on public transportation again.
Last summer we went on a holiday just to drive. Dad had made his own bike and wanted to test it in the mountains, and I wanted to become better in the corners. So we choose to go to the Ardenne, it’s in Belgium and it has small mountains. My dad talked to my uncle Cees a week before we wanted to go. He was enthusiastic and wanted to come with us. He took his family and drove to the Ardenne as well. My dad’s bike broke down and we had to call my uncle to bring some parts. But it was so nice we drove and drove until we ended up in Luxemburg. It is a small country which has a lot of castles so we went in to a castle and bought a road map. Now we could plan witch route we wanted to take, because the most beautiful thing of driving is the small roads the corners and the views, and even the smells. Let’s say you are driving past a bakery and you can smell all the nice smells of fresh made bread. If you pass by with your car you will never experience that. The trip became more beautiful the roads became smaller and the corners became tighter, and the smells became better. We started to drive faster and faster. I had a big smile on my face all the time. My dad told me “this is how we should drive the bikes every day.”
One thing my family does is racing. You can always find my family on the racing track. Because it’s my dad’s job and we love it. He builds tunes and fixes racing bikes. You may have heard of brands like BSA, BMW or Honda, there are the real first racing bikes and they are still racing. My dad is an expert, and he helps a lot of racers. So all my life I’ve been going to the tracks. I love it, the atmosphere, the people and the speed. A few years ago my brother started racing. My dad use to lend a racing bike to other racers, but now my own brother is racing. It’s even better to go there and there is more excitement. Last season he crashed a few times, he didn’t like to race anymore so he stopped for a while now. He built a new bike, a faster better one. It’s almost finished and he wants to start racing again. The first race will be 6 and 7 October and I’m a little scared. I don’t know what is going to happen, and I’m on the other site of the world, what if something happens? I’m always there when he drives! We will see, it will work out as long as he has the joy of driving again, like we all have in the family.

Hoop dat jullie het leuk vonden. En ja het klopt niet hellemaal voor de mensen die er bij waren. Maar ik moest er een "leuk" verhaal van maken.
Groetjes

  • 31 Oktober 2012 - 13:15

    Kila:

    Hoi Claudia,
    Mooi verhaal hoor! Boeiend geschreven en vol met persoonlijke gevoelens die je passie voor motorrijden duidelijk maken :)
    liefs

  • 02 November 2012 - 13:47

    Oom Dirk:

    He Claudia,
    Dat is een goed verhaal. Je hoeft niet altijd precies te vertellen wat er in het echt gebeurt is. Je had het beslist nog spannender kunnen maken, maar hopelijk vinden je docenten het ook goed.
    De spellingchecker werkte ook goed. Ga zo door. Dirk

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Claudia

Op reis naar Hawaii, om daar lessen te volgen op Hawaii Pacific University. Volgende reis zal gaan naar Canada om daar van het ski seizoen te kunnen genieten.

Actief sinds 24 Dec. 2012
Verslag gelezen: 181
Totaal aantal bezoekers 23032

Voorgaande reizen:

18 November 2013 - 31 Maart 2014

Canada in het Winter seizoen

16 Augustus 2012 - 17 Januari 2013

Mijn eerste reis bestemming is Hawaii

Landen bezocht: